Killing The Krampus


Well this is actually my own gameplay! I succumbed to fraps pressure and downloaded the non-member version. It only gives me 30-60 seconds of filming, but if it’s a quick job, then job done.

A quick note on who and what the Krampus is: the Krampus is a monster that was recently added to Don’t Starve with the ‘Naughty and Nice’ update. Bit like a¬†treacherous Santa Claus if you kill too many innocent things [such as birds in my case]. I really disliked doing it, but my task of the day was to obtain the Krampus’ ruck sack because it offers 8 additional inventory slots, but only has a 1% chance of spawning after killing the Krampus.

The way this works is that the Krampus spawns when your ‘naughty meter’ is too high. It’s not visible, but after killing animals continuously, you begin to hear a sigh, which, if killing more animals [no gore], the hiss will turn into a distinct growl. There are set parameters for each animal in the game – killing a Red Bird has a very low percentage, but was the easiest to catch and kill. Very… very inhumane, I know. I apologise to my animal-loving readers, I really do, but this is what makes the game really intelligent and thought-provoking [excessive exploitation = punishment].

Anyway, this was my tactical way of getting the ruck sack: I made a couple of sleep darts and managed to get a tentacle spike [strongest weapon going, the spear being the second in the game]. I then captured numerous Red Birds and took them out [insert really sad face here]. After the unnecessary slaughtering, the Krampus spawned. I shot a couple of sleeping darts at him [frankly, you just need one because I shot twice in panic; this monster does deal a lot of damage if you don’t have some sort of armour], and spam-clicked that sucker until he died. All my hard prep lead me to nothing. I got ash and monster meat! What a jip…

So, Matty’s top tips on how to kill a Krampus [using Red Birds]:

1) Make some sleep darts, a log suit and a spear / obtain a tentacle spike
2) Build a 2-3 bird nets, bait and capture Red Birds, then kill
3) Listen for the hissing and growling
4) Growling = get ready to rumble
5) Sleep dart Krampus, then spam-click until he’s dead
6) Obtain booty

One thought on “Killing The Krampus

  1. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I clicked submit my comment
    didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Anyway, just wanted to say superb blog!

Your Thoughts?

